North America

North America is a continent in the Northern Hemisphere which comprises of 23 countries, the largest being Canada, America, and Mexico. Before the European settlers arrived in North America, the Indigenous and Native American people lived on the continent. In Canada, among the indigenous people are First Nations people, the Inuit and the Métis. First Nations people were the original inhabitants of the land that is now Canada, often occupying territories south of the Arctic. Inuit – Inuktitut – meaning “the people” are Indigenous people, many of whom inhabit the northern regions of Canada. An Inuit person is known as an Inuk. The Inuit homeland is known as Inuit Nunangat, which refers to the land, water, and ice contained in the Arctic region. Métis people are a combination of European and Indigenous ancestry and live mostly in the Prairie provinces and in Ontario but can also reside in other parts of the country. In Mexico, the largest indigenous minority groups belong to the modern Mayan people such as the Yucatan or Campeche people. Mayan or mixed Mayan people are also among the largest ethnic groups in other countries. Many of the decedents of the Maya people live also in Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador and Honduras.

COP 27 Experience in Dahab, Egypt

Wednesday, March 09th, 2023Dahab, EgyptThe Cultural COP was an incredible experience that enriched...